Music at the Wende: Music/Words Presents “In the Footsteps of the Master and Margarita”

May 6, 2022

7 p.m.: Museum tour and reception
8 p.m.: Concert

Inna Faliks, a renowned pianist and the head of UCLA's Piano department, presents a musical program that explores Mikhail Bulgakov's iconic Soviet novel of art, irony, love, religion, and Faustian legend, The Master and Margarita. Faliks will perform the world premiere of two compositions that celebrate the novel and have been composed especially for this evening: Maya Miro Johnson's Manuscripts Don't Burn, for speaking pianist and Margarita suite for piano by Veronika Krausas. The premieres also reflect on the Wende Collection's Stanislav Molodykh painting The Asylum, which references the famous Soviet novel. In addition, Faliks's performance will include Liszt's Mephisto Waltz and Beethoven Sonata opus 111, discussed in the novel Dr. Faustus by Thomas Mann.

About Music/Words
Music/Words is an interdisciplinary live performance series founded and directed by Inna Faliks. Music/Words explores meaningful connections between music, poetry, and literature. The emphasis of Music/Words is on living poets with music from all eras, from classical standard repertoire to world premieres.

This concert is dedicated to the memory of Irene Faliks (July 1954 - October 2021).

RSVPs open Tuesday, April 12 at 10 a.m.